2018 Ram

8-Channel Interactive Signal Processor w/ Integrated iDatalink Maestro Module
dawg73
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:25 pm

2018 Ram

Post by dawg73 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:32 pm

Has anyone got the DSR1 to work with a 2018 Ram with the Alpine system? I installed one a few days ago and I'm not getting any output from the RCA cables.
I appreciate any info.
Thanks!

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:26 am

Did you update your DSR to version 1.3 from Rockford's site?

Did you flash the DSR with maestro firmware for the ram?

Did you configure your outputs on the Perfect Tune app?
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

dawg73
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by dawg73 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:15 am

Thank you for the reply. Yes it is on 1.3. Yes I did flash it with the Maestro firmware but I had to select the 2017 Ram as 2018 wasn't an option. I did set the outputs to front + rear + sub and made sure the master volume was all the way up and not on mute.
I have called support for both Idata and Rockford.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Nov 16, 2017 2:15 pm

Does your OEM radio have CarPlay or Android Auto?

If we don't list a car, that means that we don't cover it yet, because we haven't tested it and validated that it's the same as the previous year.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

dawg73
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by dawg73 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:47 pm

How long until it is tested on a 2018 do you think?

Thanks

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:57 pm

Dara DeGrand wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 2:15 pm
Does your OEM radio have CarPlay or Android Auto?
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

dawg73
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by dawg73 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:59 pm

yes

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:15 am

That, right there, is the big difference between 2017 and 2018. You need to add load resistors for the radio to send audio when you have that type of deck. There still may be more that's different, but if you give the steps below a try, it just might work:

-You need to add 500 ohm load resistors on each input. See the attached image.
load resistors.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

dawg73
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by dawg73 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:24 am

What wattage do you recommend for the 500ohm resistor?

Thanks

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by Dara DeGrand » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:34 am

1/4 or 1/2 watt will work.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

dawg73
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by dawg73 » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:16 am

I installed the resistors as the document you provided shows. It didn't work, and after going back to factory I didn't have any sound from the stock system. I pulled the fuses for the factory amp and Bluetooth and it reset everything so I was able to get the factory amp working again.
Any other suggestions?
Thanks

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:23 am

When you have no sound, you need to let the vehicle sleep. When it wakes up, it tries to detect a load again, and should give you sound. You could try that with the aftermarket system installed.

If that does not work, wait until it is officially covered on our site.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

dawg73
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by dawg73 » Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:05 am

Update-
Installing the resistors and letting the system go to sleep did work. I also pulled the fuses labeled "Bluetooth" and "Amplifier" to reset the factory radio. Everything is working fine now.
Hopefully this will help someone.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:10 am

Good deal- I'm glad it's up and running!
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

zachi3
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:58 am

Re: 2018 Ram

Post by zachi3 » Wed May 02, 2018 4:56 am

Hello there,
is there an actual wiring guide for the 2018 RAM with 8.4 Alpine Premium sound system ?
the wiring colors in document ADS-DSR1-CHR03-AR-IG are all wrong.

i checked the rear tweeter wires and they are YN/GY..GN/BN for right side and BN/WH .. GN/GY for the left side for example which doesnt match the documentation at all :-(

regards

Post Reply

Return to “Maestro DSR1”