2011 Camry - RR Module with 4100NEX

Post Reply
LR_2011camry
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:25 am

2011 Camry - RR Module with 4100NEX

Post by LR_2011camry » Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:48 am

Trying to install RR module with T01 harness in 2011 Camry LE. Harness is spliced good. Connectors have been terminated good. Flashed RR module for 2011 Camry to activate Siri using long press mode button on the steering wheel. Audio jack is plugged in AUX port on the stereo. But due to some reason My Vhicle icon under Home menue stays disabled. I can do volume up and down, move through media options using Mode button on the steering and use some of the preset button functuons( for example songs up and down, when radio is on it only jumps to next freq instead of next channel). It looks like flashed module steering wheel controls did not transferred. Upgraded the stereo firmware to 1.05. RR module was flashed before the upgrade and it did not work. Did not go back to reflash it after stereo firmware 1.05 upgrade. I went to idatalink website to flash it where the module was not detected. I think I need to go maestro idatalink site (green) to detect it. I think I used the green site first. Went over car breaking sequence to activate the AV port, it did not help. ODB2 module is comminicating information to stereo through RR module. I could browse in the stereo system settings to access ODB available options. I can see VIN number in the stereo. Stereo is telling me that iDatalink port status is ok. I think I have used correct device ID during module flash process(not sure mismatched device number might be causing it, please confirm). I am at loss as to do what next. Crutchfuled plans to follow up on my issue with iDatalink. During the meantime any guidance will be very helpful.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5135
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2011 Camry - RR Module with 4100NEX

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Dec 12, 2016 8:52 am

Right now, voice/siri is set as a press and hold command on the mode button. To make this work with pioneer, Voice/Siri needs its own button, with "none" set after it, because it requires a VERY long press in order for it to activate.

Because the 4100 does not support gauges or vehicle info, these menu options in "My Vehicle" will not be available. What else is not working for you?
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

LR_2011camry
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:25 am

Re: 2011 Camry - RR Module with 4100NEX

Post by LR_2011camry » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:00 pm

Dara DeGrand wrote:Right now, voice/siri is set as a press and hold command on the mode button. To make this work with pioneer, Voice/Siri needs its own button, with "none" set after it, because it requires a VERY long press in order for it to activate.

Because the 4100 does not support gauges or vehicle info, these menu options in "My Vehicle" will not be available. What else is not working for you?
So correct me if I am wrong. Are you telling me that 4100NEX and RR module will not work. The product literature says it does. What am I missing here?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5135
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2011 Camry - RR Module with 4100NEX

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:11 pm

It works for things like JBL and steering wheel controls, it just will not do gauges or vehicle info because Pioneer opted not to support those features until this year, the x200NEX series.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

LR_2011camry
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:25 am

Re: 2011 Camry - RR Module with 4100NEX

Post by LR_2011camry » Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:14 pm

Dara DeGrand wrote:It works for things like JBL and steering wheel controls, it just will not do gauges or vehicle info because Pioneer opted not to support those features until this year, the x200NEX series.
That is disappointing to know. Ok. What do I need to do to keep presets function on the steering wheel. What I would like to do is flip through preset channels instead of going up or down in frequencies. I am assuming songs pull be changed with no issues, have not tried it.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5135
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2011 Camry - RR Module with 4100NEX

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:33 pm

Does the preset go up/down when you press and hold seek? You can try reflashing your RR and swapping the preset and seek commands; put preset first.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

LR_2011camry
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:25 am

Re: 2011 Camry - RR Module with 4100NEX

Post by LR_2011camry » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:19 pm

Dara DeGrand wrote:Does the preset go up/down when you press and hold seek? You can try reflashing your RR and swapping the preset and seek commands; put preset first.
I will try this and follow up on this by this weekend.

LR_2011camry
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:25 am

Re: 2011 Camry - RR Module with 4100NEX

Post by LR_2011camry » Fri Dec 16, 2016 10:42 pm

LR_2011camry wrote:
Dara DeGrand wrote:Does the preset go up/down when you press and hold seek? You can try reflashing your RR and swapping the preset and seek commands; put preset first.
I will try this and follow up on this by this weekend.
Follow up; All good. Reflashed the module and for short press I selected present and for long press I selected seek. Works accordingly. Siri hands free is working as well, MODE long press function. It would be nice to have gauges but at this point it is not a deal breaker. It is be great If firmware update comes to address this in the future. I can set and see several parameters for OBD.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5135
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: 2011 Camry - RR Module with 4100NEX

Post by Dara DeGrand » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:56 am

Good deal! The lack of gauges on that model was a Pioneer decision; We don't have the ability to add them. If you upgrade your radio to any idatalink compatible radio model 2016 and going forward, you will get gauges.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Post Reply

Return to “TO1 radio replacement solution”