Fuel Level Gauge Not Working

Group using the TO1 and TO2 firmware * see specific firmware for full feature list.
Post Reply
Pedroinpv
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:40 pm

Fuel Level Gauge Not Working

Post by Pedroinpv » Wed Jan 17, 2018 12:41 pm

I may have posted this earlier in the wrong section:

I have a 2008 Toyota 4Runner and I recently installed a Kenwood DMX7704s (self-installed). I used the idatalink Maestro Rr and the TO1 harness. After installation I noticed the Fuel Level Gauge on the aftermarket radio was not working. I set the fuel capacity at 23.0 gallons in the settings menu. By default, the fuel level gauge automatically appears on page 2 of the gauge screens, but it only shows a minus sign. In the gauge setting menu, the Fuel Level option is greyed out and displays no number indicating it’s already been assigned (default). While trouble shooting, I have also noticed that the door ajar warnings, the low tire pressure (TPMS) warning and the check engine light warning are not functioning. The TPMS system shows the correct tire pressures and I was able to set each tire individually (it just doesn’t show a warning when the pressure falls below factory specs, even though the system indicator on the dashboard comes on with low pressure). The Instant Gas Usage and Average Gas Mileage gauges seem to function normally (DTE doesn’t). All steering wheel controls work, the factory amplifier and factory speaker system work perfectly.
When I originally flashed the Maestro Rr, I didn’t assign all the steering wheel function buttons that I wanted, so I flashed again today adding additional button settings and that was successful. Prior to the new flashing I also updated the firmware on the Kenwood. I was hoping this flashing would solve the other issues, it didn’t. While I had the Maestro Rr removed, I extensively checked all connections and everything appeared correct. One thing I did notice was an unconnected plastic connecter that comes out of the wire bundle from the Maestro Rr (I believe from the F or G terminal). A blue/light green wire and a black wire go into the unconnected connecter. I searched all over and could not find where the connection should go. I have no dash cam, rear cam or navigation, so those wires are capped.
In the Maestro Module setting, under Gauges and OBDII, I get the notice: Comm> OK; Can> OK; Scan tool not detected.
Any help would appreciated.

JustinFerroni
ADS Team
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: Fuel Level Gauge Not Working

Post by JustinFerroni » Wed Jan 17, 2018 6:42 pm

Thank you for reaching out with your question and hopefully we clear up some of the concerns you are having. Firstly, the Maestro RR will not display every gauge in the option table. We can only display what is on the data bus line that we are connected to. And with you mentioning that in the option table that the Fuel Level gauge is grayed out indicates that it is not on that data bus. As for the Door Trigger we have also seen this on other Toyota's in the past as it may not be on the data bus. Now with the TPMS warning 1st make sure that you have the tire alert setting set to ON, then try going below 25PSI. If this is too low then we can work with our engineering team and see about getting some things changed for you.
Justin Ferroni
Technical Support Specialist- Maestro
T: 514.807.2888
TF: 866.427.2999

Pedroinpv
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:40 pm

Re: Fuel Level Gauge Not Working

Post by Pedroinpv » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:15 am

Hi Justin, thanks for the reply. I actually had a low tire warning a few days ago due to a slow leak. The warning came on in the car, but not on the radio screen. This is not a big problem as I do have the car warning as a working backup. The TPMS tire alert system is set to on
• What I would like to get resolved is why the OBDII is showing as “not detected?
• How can I get the gas gauge to register? I have not noticed this being a big problem in other forum posts regarding Toyotas, particularly since I do have Average MPG, Instant MPG and Mass Air Flow sensors working. I suspect it might be related to the OBDII not being detected…just a guess
Also, any ideas on what the two wire connector (blue/light green and black) coming out of the Maestro wiring bundle might connect to. I have searched and I’m not seeing anything I can connect to on the car or radio harness.

Post Reply

Return to “Toyota”