Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Group using the TO1 and TO2 firmware * see specific firmware for full feature list.
Post Reply
Jmuzzy
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:36 pm

Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Post by Jmuzzy » Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:12 am

I recently installed the Alpine ILX-207 in my 2008 Toyota Tundra (JBL, nav) using the Measrro Rr and TO1 harness. The last thing to get working is the aux input. The alpine doesn't ever show aux on the sources screen and when I go into the settings menu it's grayed out. It's almost like the Alpine expects the maestro to tell it when something is plugged into the aux but the maestro isn't sending that message. The factory system worked like that - when I would plug into the aux input the head unit would switch to it automatically and when I unplugged it would switch back to radio or cd automatically. Anybody else have this issue? Does the maestro have the ability to tell the Alpine that aux is plugged in?

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Post by Dara DeGrand » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:44 am

The Rr shouldn't have a way to keep the aux from being turned on, but I've seen weirder radio firmware bugs. I will have to ask my engineering team to test this and I will get back to you. I believe the Alpine radio is keeping the aux inaccessible because it sees the RR plugged in. It's likely that we can report this to Alpine as a bug and they may be able to fix it in an upcoming firmware update, but it's not for sure if they'll fix it.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Jmuzzy
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:36 pm

Re: Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Post by Jmuzzy » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:58 am

Thank you Dara!

doub
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Post by doub » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:49 pm

I have this same issue on an ILX-107. I cannot get the aux working. The button shows up when the unit first boots, then when the maestro presents the ODB information it displays the "Gauges" and "Vehicle Info." options, but removes the "AUX" option. Without the maestro it shows the "AUX" option.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Post by Dara DeGrand » Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:02 pm

As stated in the owner's manual for this radio, the aux source is not available when using the maestro. This is an Alpine design that we didn't have any control over.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

doub
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Post by doub » Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:54 am

Dara, thanks for the reply! I am looking at the owner's manual and I am having a hard time finding anywhere it states the AUX source is not available when using the maestro. The only thing similar I can find is where it is stated that the factory system setup is not displayed when no idatalink module is connected. Below is the link to the owners manual I looked through. One strange behavior I've noticed is if you hit the aux button before the maestro boots you get into the aux mode and everything works. If you use car play at some point however, there is no way to get back to the aux screen. This shows that it works, there is just no access. If this is in fact an alpine firmware issue, is there anyway to disable the idatalink portion of the maestro and still have the steering wheel buttons and aux button working? Again, I really appreciate your help!


http://support.alpine-usa.com/products/ ... 107_EN.pdf

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:55 am

Page 84. "When the iDatalink module (sold separately) is connected, the Auxiliary (AUX) mode is not available."

http://vault.alpine-usa.com/products/do ... WRA_EN.pdf
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

doub
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:44 pm

Re: Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Post by doub » Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:53 am

Thanks again. I see what has happened. I have replied to a thread related to the ilx-207. I actually have the ilx-107. I can start a new thread if that is desired.

User avatar
Dara DeGrand
ADS Team
Posts: 5024
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Re: Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Post by Dara DeGrand » Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:11 am

It's the same generation of radio, with the same design. I'm sorry they didn't document it in the guide for the 107, but the problem and the answer remains the same. This is an alpine design. There is nothing we can do on the iDatalink side to resolve this.
Dara DeGrand
Maestro Technical Support Manager
Automotive Data Solutions Inc.
8400 Bougainville, QC
T 514.807.2888
TF 866.427.2999

Casey878
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:41 pm

Re: Alpine ILX-207 aux not working

Post by Casey878 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:40 pm

I just installed a 207 in my ‘17 Tundra and need my AUX too. I used to work for Alpine so I put a bug in their ear about fixing it, if possible. I’m sure they will if they can.

In the meantime I’m going to try to use one of the HDMI inputs. I’ll post back if I can get it to go.
Bring back the 7909, PQ-20, and 320 i/s.....

Post Reply

Return to “Toyota”