Mac compatible flashing in the works?

Find answers to common installation issues with the WebLink Updater.
Post Reply
User avatar
klarowe
12Volt Specialist
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:51 am
Location: Albany, NY
Contact:

Mac compatible flashing in the works?

Post by klarowe » Mon Dec 28, 2015 8:22 pm

I apologize if this has already been covered and I'm just beating a dead horse, but is there anything in the works for either other browser compatibilities or for Mac? I just bought a new Macbook and I installed everything needed to get it working (Windows 10 on Parallels) but it would definitely be easier if it just worked through Chrome. Just being curious. Thanks!!!
Kenny LaRowe
Owner / Technician
KKD Garage LLC
95 Vly Road
Albany, NY 12205
klarowe@kkdgarage.com
518-227-0159

User avatar
Murph
Site Admin
Posts: 7206
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:35 pm

Re: Mac compatible flashing in the works?

Post by Murph » Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:08 pm

Apple does not support our method of flashing product. It's not that we don't want to flash on a mac. It's an issue with apple. If you want to use a mac then you need to run internet explorer.
Brian Murphy
MECP Advanced Certified Installer
ADS Tech Support
Automotive Data Solutions inc.
8400, Bougainville, Montreal, QC.
1-866-427-2999
support@idatalink.com

User avatar
klarowe
12Volt Specialist
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:51 am
Location: Albany, NY
Contact:

Re: Mac compatible flashing in the works?

Post by klarowe » Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:31 pm

Gotcha. That's what I'm doing now and it works well, just a bit of a pain. Not a big deal since most of my flashing is done with the mobile updater anyways. Just figured I'd ask. Thanks!
Kenny LaRowe
Owner / Technician
KKD Garage LLC
95 Vly Road
Albany, NY 12205
klarowe@kkdgarage.com
518-227-0159

breeves85
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:06 pm

Re: Mac compatible flashing in the works?

Post by breeves85 » Sun May 08, 2016 10:09 pm

I wish they would have at least posted system requirements on the box. I purchased this item from Best Buy and didn't realize until I got home and unpackaged the item that it only works with PC. Now I'm stuck with a product I can't use until I find a PC. might just have to return it and get a competitor's product.

User avatar
Murph
Site Admin
Posts: 7206
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:35 pm

Re: Mac compatible flashing in the works?

Post by Murph » Sun May 08, 2016 10:57 pm

breeves85 wrote:I wish they would have at least posted system requirements on the box. I purchased this item from Best Buy and didn't realize until I got home and unpackaged the item that it only works with PC. Now I'm stuck with a product I can't use until I find a PC. might just have to return it and get a competitor's product.
You can get the installers at Best Buy to flash it for you. Unfortunately it all depends with who is selling at Best Buy. Normally our product is only sold by the professional installers and they know the requirements. But if you send up with a sales person who doesn't know how to install it, mistakes can happen.
Brian Murphy
MECP Advanced Certified Installer
ADS Tech Support
Automotive Data Solutions inc.
8400, Bougainville, Montreal, QC.
1-866-427-2999
support@idatalink.com

itypar
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 8:51 pm

Re: Mac compatible flashing in the works?

Post by itypar » Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:07 pm

In Windows 10 use IE 11 and NOT microsoft Edge.

BrighterT4
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: Mac compatible flashing in the works?

Post by BrighterT4 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:50 pm

Just to confirm, does using Parallels 13 on macOS High Sierra still work using Windows 10 or Windows 7?

Post Reply

Return to “Weblink Updater”